Alex Ross picks on eMusic

No, Alex Ross (of The Rest is Noise fame, both blog and book) isn’t being mean to eMusic; in fact to my knowledge he’s never mentioned it, at least on his blog. What I mean is that several of the releases on Ross’s list of recommended CDs (CDs? how last century!) can be found on eMusic:

Note that of 18 items on Ross’s list, 13 are on eMusic. This is yet another example of how eMusic is becoming a great site for classical music, especially for people like me who want to explore contemporary classical works at relatively low expense.

6 thoughts on “Alex Ross picks on eMusic

  1. Jennifer Sardam

    Thanks for the write-up. I just began a trial membership with eMusic, which gives me 25 free songs to download. I was disappointed when I found out I hardly recognized anyone on there, but I do like classical and will check out some of these pieces you mentioned.

  2. Frank Hecker

    If you like classical then you should definitely check out “Nereffid’s Guide to eMusic Classical” (just google for it), which has lots of good suggestions.

  3. Lisa Moore

    Correction: The Bang on a Can All-Stars never recorded Music for 18, I think Alex is referring to the Steve Reich Ensemble Nonesuch recording of the 90’s, which had one member of the All-stars in it. This had nothing to do with the All-Stars as a group of organization.

  4. hecker

    Thanks for the correction. Note that the mistake is my own, not Alex Ross’s. I was referring to the recording as included on the box set “Steve Reich: Works 1965-1995′ put out by Nonesuch. There was indeed a Bang on a Can performance in this box set (“Eight Lines”), which must have been the source of my confusion. My apologies.

  5. Pingback: Alex Ross picks on eMusic again « Swindleeeee!!!!!

Comments are closed.